Iolo Morganwg at Taliesin Williams, 30 Mai 1826

(NLW 21286, rhif 998)

Address: Mr Taliesin Williams, School Master, Near the Castle Inn, Merthyr Tydvil

Postmark: (COW)BRIDG(E) 174

Source: NLW 21286E, no. 998

Fliston, May 30th 1825
Dear Tally,
Your sister Nancy and little Elizabeth arrived here in very good heath and spirits, and continue so. Elizabeth is as healthy as it is possible, I believe, for a child to be. She very often walks [---] about herself. Two or three days ago Nancy took a chair to out in the garden and Elizabeth along with her in her little chair. Nancy wanted to step into the house for her scissars and when she returned she saw Elizabeth rising out of her and runing to a gooseberry bush, where she began to to gather the berries and eat away. She was however prevent from eating to many. Scold Nancy for taking her away. She eats a bit of bread and butter or any thing else out of her own hand, and call for more. She is fond of milk which she calls 'nicy drink' (nice drink) and agrees exceeding well with her. She calls for toast often. Nancy thinks it best to give but a little bit at a time. She has a tooth or two coming out, but does not appear to be in any pains. We put her to sit down near the flower and she sees one that she like better than any, with her reach she will rise on her feet and walk to it and take. If Peggy apears to be displeased she calls her 'saucy Kitty', for Kitty is the name she gives her. Your mother she calls 'Mam', and she calls me 'Daitta' as clearly as you can pronounce the word. You must write to us by return of post. I hope you permit us to keep Elizabeth here for a week longer. To all appearance she will be the better for it, and improve in walking by going from one flower to another, but we never trust her by her self lest she should happen to fall in attempting to use her feet, and to do this, she has a much greater scope, and absolutely free from danger. She attempts to speak every word that she hear another speak. You must permit us to keep her here for a week longer than the time appointed, and this day fortnight she shall return to Cardiff, and as soon as you please, and I hope you will see her well there.
Now for yourself, Mary, and little Edward. Our love to all three. We hope you are all well.
Now in the last place for my self: I have not a hat to put upon my head when I hobble into the garden on my crutch, and I am not able to do for several days together sometimes, but I have been out every other day, the day when my complaints intermit. The sun hurts my head and eyes very much for want of a hat. I wish you would buy a white woolen hat. I do not wish for a finer one. I am told that a white Spanish wool hat may be had for from five to seven shillings. I wish it to be as light as possible for that reason. Let the crown be only 5 inches high, or deep if measured within, the brim not exceed 2 inches wide. I have not a single pair of small clothes that I am not ashamed to see about all in rags. I have not been able to get a single article of clothing mended ever since I left Merthyr in 1822, or before that. If you can, you would do me a charity, and a very great charity [--], but a bit of ordinary blue or drab cloth with linings as would be enough to make an old fashion low waisted pair. I must have it made here that I may instruct the taylor how to make it easy and comfortable for me. Another thing that I greatly want is a quire of good writing paper that I may endeavour to finish my press copy of my psalms and for other purposes, and 5 or 6 sheets of good post I want that I may write a few letters in readiness against the next general election. Mr Longman, the first bookseller in London and a Member of Parliament, urges me very much to petition the King for a a small pension, which he says was never refused to any author who had by permission dedicated a work of his to any one of the royal family. Sir Charles Morgan or his son, both Members of Parliament, would present it to the King. But more of this when I see you, which I hope will be soon. Nancy has brought her clothes box here with her and in it will bring you Mr Walters' Dictionary &c. I must be prompt and very prompt in what I do, so, as far as you may be able, do not delay to assist me in what I have mentioned.
I am, dear Tally,
Your affectionate father,
Edward Williams

Elizabeth did walk from the chair to the bush, but I was standing by her at the time. We have had thunder and rain every day since we are hear. I have not been able to take the child to Boverton or any where else.